GENERAL ASSEMBLY of December 6th, 2009 International Ragweed Society (I.R.S.) NYON-Switzerland

Date: December 6th, 2009, 14h30-17h30

Location: Nyon, Switzerland

Participants: Christian BOHREN, Marie-Agnès CHAPGIER-LABOISSIÈRE,

Bernard CLOT, Levente KISS, Tamas KOMIVES, Michel THIBAUDON,

Marie FIORI, Kamel ELIAS, Heinz MULLER-SCHAERER,

Edita STEFANIC, Ivan STEFANIC, Andreja SELIGER, Bozena MITIC, Gabriel POPOW, Gerhard KARRER, Maira BONINI, Henriette MEON, Uwe STARFINGER, Dominique COUTINOT, Stéphane CANALIS,

Jean-Luc da PASSANO, Chantal DECHAMP

Meeting: Chairperson: Tamas KOMIVES

Secretary: Michel THIBAUDON

1. List of participants

T. Komives and C. Bohren welcome the participants. All the participants have signed the original list of participants. M. Thibaudon read the list of participants who cannot come and are excused (annex).

2. Presentations

After going around the table for the presentation of everyone, T. Komives recalls briefly that the idea of creating an international association for ragweed was discussed in 2008 by the founders after the First International Ragweed Conference in Budapest and after the Colloque européen "Ambroisie: de la connaissance à l'action" in Aix-les-Bains. He presents all these points in a Power Point presentation (annex).

Then S. Canalis and J.L. Da Passano give a short presentation of the actions taken by the "Départment du Rhône" - and M. Bonini presents the actions taken in Italy.

3. Elections of the committee and auditors

According to the statutes, the assembly could elect up to four additional members of the Committee:

- Election of the Committee

The different possible candidatures are discussed by the participants and the following five persons are proposed for the Committee: J.L. Da Passano, P. Comtois, L. Cecchi, M. Bonini, U. Starfinger. The election is by secret ballot. The results permit to elect the following 4 members: J.L. Da Passano, P. Comtois, M. Bonini, U. Starfinger.

According to this list, the Committee, including 4 more members, is elected for the period 2009-2013.

- Election of the auditors

As Paul Comtois was previously elected as Auditor and is now in the Committee, the members elect a new Auditor: Ivan Stefanic.

Vote for a deputy Auditor: Andreja Seliger.

The Auditor and the deputy Auditor were elected unanimously for the period 2009-2011.

4. Membership fees

C. Bohren, as Treasurer, presents the memberships fees which are:

Individual members 10 €

Students/pensioners (>=65 years old) 50% reduction Collective bodies minimum 100 €

The treasurer then collects the fees from the participants and gives them a quittance for 2010.

5. Development of activities of the Society

For the development of the Society the participants express their hope that the number of members increases rapidly and that working groups should be created and start developing activities.

Working Group (WG) Proposals:

Biological control: D. Coutinot, L. Kiss,

Integrated management: C. Bohren, K. Elias, G. Popow, E. Stefanic, T. Komives **Biology of ragweed (ecology, genetics, etc.):** E. Stefanic, L. Kiss, B. Mitic, K. Elias, G.

Karrer, U. Starfinger, A. Seliger, H. Méon

Pollen and allergy / health impact: A. Seliger, B. Mitic, M. Thibaudon, E. Stefanic, C. Déchamp, M. Bonini, B. Clot

Financial impact (costs of ragweed): I. Stefanic, A. Chapgier, M. Bonini, T. Komives, J.L. Da Passano

Communication and education: M. Bonini, C. Déchamp, M. Thibaudon, A. Seliger, B. Mitic

Regulation - International collaboration (official): J.L. Da Passano, T. Komives, M. Fiori, M.A. Chapgier, U. Starfinger, D. Coutinot

International conferences: M. Fiori, J.L. Da Passano, I. Stefanic, B. Clot, C. Bohren **Databases, mapping:** C. Bohren, E. Stefanic, B. Mitic, G. Karrer, K. Elias, U. Starfinger, H. Méon, C. Déchamp

The president thanks the participants for the proposed working groups and says that their membership is not limited. The next Committee meeting will approve these WGs. The most important point is that they have to start their activities as soon as possible. Formally, according to the statutes, the WGs (and then their members) are nominated by the Committee, and their tasks have to be defined in a tasks description. The WGs are supposed to report at least every six month to the Committee (this report can be quite short). The president thinks that it would be important to know from each WG who is the "chair" or "contact" person. So the President and the Secretary would like to be informed shortly of the name of this contact person for each group.

Two other points are discussed:

-Internet website: T. Komives and L. Kiss (Webmaster) have registered the addresses: www.internationalragweedsociety.com and www.internationalragweedsociety.org

-Logo: Christian Bohren makes a first proposal for a logo. M. Thibaudon proposes a call for logo by e-mail to the members in a few weeks and the committee will then decide.

No other points are discussed.

The chairman and secretary close the meeting at 17h30.

The President
Tamas KOMIVES

The Secretary
Michel THIBAUDON

Annexes: List of participants, Presentation of T. Komives